Entries have now closed for the 2010 Dare to be Digital competition, with over 100 teams from nearly 80 universities around the world applying to enter this year’s competition – the highest number of entries in the competition’s 11-year history.

The 2010 call for entries, which opened in January this year, closed on Sunday 28 March. 

Over 100 teams from all over the world have applied. They come from almost 80 universities across the UK, the USA, Canada, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, China, India, Egypt and Poland.

The judging panel has now started the online process to determine which teams are invited to the interview stage. The judges come from members of the UK Dare Developer Accord which includes the BBC, Blitz Games Studios, Cohort Studios, Denki, Rare, Realtime Worlds, Rockstar North, SEGA, Sony and Ubisoft.

A maximum of 15 teams will be selected to proceed to the next round of the competition.

Sponsorship from the Scottish Government and partnerships with the Norwegian School of Information Technology, NITH and the British Council will enable Dare to be Digital to hold selection events in India, China and Norway. Judges for these events will be provided by EA DICE (Sweden), Funcom (Norway), IO Interactive (Denmark), Virtual Information & Communications, Maya Academy of Advanced Cinematics and Arena Animation.

The teams selected for the main phase will be announced in May.

The main phase of Dare to be Digital 2010 will start on 7 June at Abertay University in Dundee.

Teams selected for the competition will spend 10-weeks in an intensive ‘hot-house’ development environment, building fully-functioning prototypes for assessment by industry judges and a public vote at Dare ProtoPlay, scheduled for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival in August.

see http://www.daretobedigital.com/